Merfy-Lou's Musings

30 Things: Day 9

on October 6, 2012

List 10 people who have influenced you and describe how.

1.  My parents.  I know I have talked about them before, but they are the people who brought me up to be the woman I am today.  My parents are the most giving people I have ever known.  From being Little League President to having two extra boys stay in their home, they have taught me that volunteering is one of the only ways any community will ever be successful.

2.  My husband influences me to want to be successful.  It’s frustrating to us that we have different views on what success is, but he challenges me to to be my best.

3.  My friends Punk and Rock.  They seem to have wisdom beyond their years and help me stay sane.  They influence me to have a “I just care about myself” attitude which helps me be less stressed.

4.  My brothers of Alpha Phi Omega continue to influence me for similar reasons of my parents.  They remind me the joy of volunteering and leadership.

5.  My best friend, Kim.  She is awesome.  She is constantly reminding me that my life isn’t horrible and that things will work out, one way or another.

6.  My grandparents.  All six of them, because I never knew them any other way than just grandparents.  They have this amazing vibe that just screams love.  It is so wonderful to be a part of.

7.  My younger brothers.  They have influenced me to be determined to do it myself.  Growing up, I don’t really ever consider myself to have been an incredible “girly-girl” and I blame having two awesome little brothers.

8.  My bosses at Cold Stone in Soldotna.  Mick and Nikki, and Cheryl and Jack are all influential to just be happy.  They always have a smile on their faces and the most loving vibe.  They welcomed us into their hearts and homes, that’s the kind of family I want to have.

9.  Joe Hayes is also on my list.  Joe is a people person, who seemingly always remembers everyone.  He influences me to work on my name remembering skills.

10.  And last, but certainly not least, my high school ski coaches, D’Anna and Dave.  I wasn’t the fastest skier, but something about them always made me want to work my hardest.  I’m sorry I almost killed you with my deathly glares, but I’m so glad you put up with me.

One response to “30 Things: Day 9

Leave a Reply

