Merfy-Lou's Musings

30 Things: Day 10

on October 7, 2012

Describe your most embarrassing moment.

It’s a toss-up between the time I was wearing yellow pants and my pad leaked or the time I was caught singing “In the Jungle” in the bathroom at the old courthouse.  I suppose I’ll elaborate on each.

In 7th grade, I was going to be late to band, so I didn’t stop by the bathroom to change my pad.  I knew I was going to regret it, but at the same time, being on time was incredibly important to me.  So, I went through band class, in my BRIGHT YELLOW TRACK PANTS, and played flute in the front row for the entire class.  When it was over, I put my flute away and went to lunch, not thinking about it.  Someone came running down the hall and said Mrs. Sounart wanted to see me.  So I went back.  My chair had a HUGE butt print in blood in it. I was mortified.  I had to get to the nurse’s office which was clear across the school without everyone noticing.  Fortunately, my lunch pail was able to cover my bum and the nurse had a pair of shorts I could wear.

The other time, was around the same time period.  We were waiting for Youth Court to start and were goofing around in the court room.  I went to the bathroom and was singing to myself, “In the jungle.”  Not bad, whatever.  But I didn’t hear someone come in (probably because they turned right around).  As I reentered the courtroom, everyone there started singing the song I had just been singing in the bathroom.  I turned around, went into the back hallways and just cried.  Now, it’s really just funny, but I hated the situation for the longest time.

2 responses to “30 Things: Day 10

  1. Kimbo says:

    I didn’t know that you had a blood leakage situation! I had one in high school during Burck’s biology class. I was wearing those really light-colored PJ pants that I always wore, and I apparently leaked. I didn’t know it, until Amy Jahrig passed a note over to me. I was super confused, because none of the popular girls ever passed me notes but I was super glad someone told me, because they totally could have let me run around with a bloody butt. 😦

Leave a Reply

