Merfy-Lou's Musings

30 Things: Day 20

on October 17, 2012

Describe 3 significant memories from your childhood.

  1. It was the summer after second grade.  My neighbor from across the street and some other kids were playing in our favorite tree behind Robert’s home.  I was standing on one branch and holding onto another when Robert decided to pull back on the branch I was holding onto.  The thing was, when he let go of the branch, it smacked me in the mouth. Hard.  It knocked out my front two teeth.  One of them was still dangling in my mouth, but the other, after awhile of searching, was gone forever.
  2. I used to hate country music.  Like, it was the worst thing in the world.  Until I was on the All Star Softball team of 2003 for the Kenai Little League.  Our competition was in Anchorage that summer, and since my dad was the coach of my brother’s team, I was pawned off to my teammates.  Whitney Brown and Jackie Hall are the reasons I now listen to country.  Slowly they brought me into the new genre and I realized that it really wasn’t evil, actually most of it was pretty awesome.
  3. Girls Camp was always a memorable week.  For a week, all of the girls in the Ward would go camping.  Without the guys (mostly).  And learn how to cook, cut wood, swim, raft, fish, all of the “manly” things, all the while still completing girly things like making bracelets and picture frames.
Leave a Reply

