Merfy-Lou's Musings

21 Day Sugar Detox: Day 1

on March 5, 2013

Day 1 is going well so far, considering the fact that I opted against going to the grocery store after getting back into town at 10pm.

I weighed in this morning before eating anything at 241.0. While I’m not doing this intentionally to lose weight, I’m curious to see if I’m like some others and do lose weight simply by cutting sugar and starch.

Breakfast consisted of three basted eggs.

I forgot my lunch and don’t really take much time to eat, so no time to run and get it, so I tried making the best choice available at the West Ridge Cafe. A garden salad (that I picked the cheese off of) and sausage and bean soup. Beans and corn are on the do not consume list, but I needed some protein and this seemed like the best option. I picked out a good portion of them (about 1/3 cup combined), but I know that I probably missed a few. I will definitely remember my lunch tomorrow.

Dinner was bacon and eggs because by the time I got home from grocery shopping, I was incredibly hungry.
I’m now stocked with what I need for several recipes including sausage stuffed peppers (sausage, cauliflower rice, onion, oregano, garlic, basil and thyme), lemon chicken, and a few others – my recipes aren’t in front of me right now.

On the Facebook page for 21DSD, someone mentioned they made “hot cocoa” with a cup of hot water, 2 tablespoons of coconut milk and a tablespoon of cocoa powder. It’s not a sweet drink, but it helped me not reach for crackers or a potato which is what I really wanted.

Overall the day went rather well. I went to bed early (9pm) due to cravings and the fact that I wasn’t getting anything done on my midterm, with the intention of waking up early (I have to be out of my parking lot by 8am due to the massive plow job they do every year).

It’s weird not to chew gum all day and I definitely look forward to being able to do that again.

Leave a Reply

