Merfy-Lou's Musings

30 Things: Day 3

on September 30, 2012

Describe your relationship with your parents.

My dad and I have a very supportive relationship.  We don’t try to critic each other anymore because it only ends in arguing.  But being his daughter and a first generation 4-year college graduate is something we are proud of together.  He would tell me from the time I was about 8, to save all my money, so I could go to college.  Did I listen? No. Do I regret not listening? Absolutely.  But c’est la vie.  I love my dad because he is one of the strongest, most important man in my life.  I didn’t stop being daddy’s little girl just because I’m growing up.  To me, there is nothing better than a hug from my dad.  We don’t see eye-to-eye on a lot of things, but we understand that it’s okay to have different views on things.

My mom and I get asked if we’re sisters while shopping and I love it.  It makes my grandma feel old, but that’s another story.  I can tell my mom anything and she’ll have a response that makes it better.  She can tell me when I’m being ridiculous and generally, I’ll stop what I was doing or change my mind or something.  She is smart, beautiful, dedicated to the things she loves most.  It’s amazing.  She is the woman I want to be when I grow up.

I love you, both

Leave a Reply

