Merfy-Lou's Musings

30 Things: Day 7

on October 4, 2012

What is your dream job, and why?

To be honest, I have absolutely no idea what I want to do anymore.  My dream job includes helping people and making a difference in their lives.  Right now the three career paths that seem to meet these requirements are nursing, teaching or somewhere in student affairs.

These two requirements appeal to me because I enjoy helping people.  Someone (named Charlie Dexter) once told me “If it’s worth doing, it’s worth doing for money.”  I don’t necessarily agree with the statement in full, because to a point volunteers are extremely important to many organizations, but to be the person organizing said volunteers or to be directing an organization that I used to volunteer at appeals to me.

The second requirement of “making a difference” is important because I don’t want to be a “nobody” that people don’t know – like data entry or a CEO that people hate.

Leave a Reply

